237130_A2_Week8_Best Work_11/05/2016.

1. 1 x Mind-map (I/S any from wks 4-7): Generative and evidences preparing and planning for a written project: May illustrate or note all or any of the following: maybe expressed through words, phrases, and other visual or textual processes.

Mind-Map created with mindmeister.com.

Mind-Map created with mindmeister.com.

2. Paragraph Writing

a. Upload the 2x paragraphs: See Week 6 Evaluate your writing from weeks 4–6 and select two of your best blog posts (writing with images).

Click these links to view the chosen best blog posts:

https://bridgettcreativity.wordpress.com/2016/04/21/237130_a2_week5_task1_visual-literacy-_21042016/

https://bridgettcreativity.wordpress.com/2016/04/24/237130_a2_week5_task4_written-paragraph_24042016/

b. Upload the paragraph that responds to Week 7 Task 2: In a 100-250 word paragraph for a Blog Post discuss how a visual text can be constructed and read differently considering ‘world view’, ‘ideology’, and ‘the myth ofphotographic truth’ (see Wk 7.2 for further details).

As a person views an visual text, they have a already set perspective or understanding before they have thought about the image critically. One part of this perspective is the viewers ‘truth’ in contrast to the artists ‘truth’. These truths are created from the world view that is held by the person, the construction of the image is different from viewing it thus meaning two different truths. As stated in the video called “A Photographic Truth.”  the truth changes depending on the person (artist/viewer)(Youtube). Here ideology can influenced the construction and the viewing of this image because the person can be influenced by current changes in society/ politics. As society and politics are forever changing, this means that visual texts created are also forever changing.

3. Reflection on paper weeks 1-6 (SeeWk6)

Over the six weeks when doing this blog tasks, I have found resources and created paragraphs that I can use for my essay as well as finding references and reliable visual texts that relate to my essay question. To me the most interesting part of this paper is being able to find visual texts that can relate as well as finding them from a reliable source. It has also been interesting to hear the different perspectives of people relating to my essay question and visual texts. What has worked for me is the tasks that ask to find new visual texts and being able to analyze them throughly enough to use within my essay. The videos have  been helpful when needing to understand the different ideas around an overall main idea and also finding credible resources. There have been some blog tasks that haven’t really worked for me as I felt they aren’t as helpful as some of the other blog posts. Going through analyzing texts from the course reader I feel didn’t really work for me because I feel that I can’t use this within my essay. My ideas have been challenged through introducing ways of looking at the idea through a different perspective. I has been a challenge to go away from my set of ideas and explore new ideas that can relate back to my essay question. Overall these 6 weeks have been helpful and I have now got credible resources and visual texts as well as references that I can use within my essay. Also selecting two of my best blog posts will help me create a format for writing my essay paragraphs.

4. Tool–kit (see Wk 8 Task 1 above)

List at least 12-20 things in total (at least 3 under each heading) 

  • Planning and Preparation

– The Essay Preparation presentation from Week 8.

– Week 4, Task #2A-C making me create a mind-map and re-write the question helped me to understand it better.

-Week 4, Task #3E as this was researching under my essay question/topic.

  • Writing Skills

-Week 4, Task #3A for starting to write a critical response.

-Week 4, Task #1B for reading on how to write for university standards.

-Week 4, Task #1A for researching about what an analytical essay is and what is required within the essay.

  • Content and Visual Text Analysis Tools

-Week 4, Task #3A fro being able to critically look at a visual text and understand undying ideas.

-Week 4, Task #4B for fining my own visual texts that relate to the ideas based around Mirzoeff  and being able to analyse these critically.

-Week 4, Task #4C for a visual analysis and creating some type of format I can follow when analysing other visual texts.

  • Research and Information Gathering Tools and Protocols

-Week 5, Task #2 using a text from the course reader to be able to gather tools for researching and information finding.

-Week 6, Task #1 for the use of key words to create some type of research bank that  I can use later when writing my essay.

-Week 6, task #3 for offering videos that don’t only reference visual texts but also verbal texts, being able to reference these people who are concerned with the same idea.

Cite all source material–in-text and bibliographic citations: MLA captions; MLA in-text referencing for online sources, lecture presentations, video presentation, etc.

Ensure all material in A2 Component B My Best Blog Posts 2016 is labeled and archived for easy identification.

Leave a Reply

