237130_A2_Week4_Task#4B_ Image Selection_14/04/2016.

Kahlo, Frida. The Broken Column. Digital image. Olga's Gallery. Abcgallery.com, n.d. Web. 13 Apr. 2016.

Kahlo, Frida. The Broken Column. Digital image. Olga’s Gallery. Abcgallery.com, n.d. Web. 13 Apr. 2016.

I have chosen this self-portrait by Frida Kahlo because I would like the use it as a comparison to an image within the book. I believe that this picture relates to the question because it is showing what she was like at the time of painting it, it was now something engraved into her identity as a person. This image is showing all she is, not leaving out any detail.


 

Amin, Tracey. I've Got It All. Digital image. A-n. A-n.co.uk, 21 Jan. 2013. Web. 13 Apr. 2016.

Emin, Tracey. I’ve Got It All. Digital image. A-n. A-n.co.uk, 21 Jan. 2013. Web. 13 Apr. 2016.

This second image could almost be taken as explicit. I have chosen this image because I believe it is an example of what people show within their images in trying to get views. Having money in the image could be showing what type of status she holds. This could also be taken as some type of performance, like she is trying to portray some social issue. I believe that this connects to my question because it shows her identity as a person, this is showing the more contemporary self-portrait. In relation to Mirzoeff examples, I could use this in relation to the way ‘male gaze’ and how gender is shown within images.

Texts Referenced:

(Mirzoeff, Nicholas. “Chapter One. How to See Yourself”. How to See the World. London: Pelican, 2015. 31-69. Print)

2 thoughts on “237130_A2_Week4_Task#4B_ Image Selection_14/04/2016.

  1. John says:

    I’ve been surfing online more than 2 hours today, yet I
    never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for
    me. Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be a lot more useful than ever before.

    Like

  2. Sterling says:

    You have made some good points there. I looked on the internet to learn more about the issue and found most individuals will go along with your views on this site.

    Like

Leave a Reply

